Additive Manufacturing Users Group Recognizes Excellence
Todd Grimm posted on April 25, 2013 |

AMUG DINO awards -Grimm, Alexander, Hoppe, Bauman, BordnerThe Additive Manufacturing Users Group (AMUG) announced recipients of awards for excellence, service and technical skill. The awards were presented at the 25th annual users group conference in Jacksonville, Florida.

During the annual Awards Banquet, the association named the winners of the 2013 Technical Competition. This competition recognizes excellence in additive manufacturing applications and skill in finishing additive manufacturing parts. A panel of industry veterans selected Carl Dekker, president of Met-L-Flo, as the winner for both categories. Carl’s entry was a prototype shifter assembly that used multiple additive manufacturing technologies. Runner ups included Danice Chou, Biomedical Modeling Inc., Joe Holland, Christie Digital Systems/Hyphen, and Steve Kossett, Northern Lights Technology Center.

Another event highlight was the presentations of five DINO (Distinguished INnovator Operator) Awards, which recognize industry veterans with exceptional skills that in turn contribute back to the additive manufacturing industry. The newly named dinosaurs are:

  • Terry Hoppe, Stratasys
  • Paul Bordner, Laser Reproductions
  • Chuck Alexander, Solid Concepts
  • Brian Bauman, Linked In 3d
  •  Todd Grimm, T. A. Grimm & Associates

Gary Rabinovitz, outgoing president, said, “Without question, this is one of the most prestigious awards in the additive manufacturing industry. While there were many deserving candidates among the hundreds of highly skilled, seasoned veterans that attended the conference, these five men best represent what the DINO Award is all about: excellence and service.”

Recommended For You