John Hayes posted on February 09, 2011 |
Somehow, technical magazines are still alive, selling paper ads for thousands of dollars per placement. They claim modest distribution to begin with, and then bump that up a little to account for how many readers see each copy of the publication. But no matter how you slice it, the cost per impression is huge.
Let’s say a trade publication has a circulation of 10,000 copies each month. They claim each copy is read by 2.5 different people for a total “circulation” of 25,000. Let’s also say your half-page ad costs $5,000. That’s a cost of $.20 to reach each person, or a CPM of $200. And that’s just for a possible impression. If your ad is stuck near a boring story, it may only get seen by half of those people, driving your CPM to $400.
And once somebody sees your ad, how can they take action? Do they have to go to your web site? Are people still filling out bingo cards?
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It’s no wonder advertising budgets are moving online. eMarketer reports that US online ad spending grew to 25.8B in 2010, and that it will grow by 60% to $40.5B in 2014.
I’m not saying that advertising with technical trade magazines is a bad idea. They are in business because they feature strong technical reporting on topics that matter to a highly targeted audience. My point is that you don’t have to kill trees to reach their audience.